First Round of Updates

I said the primary focus of this blog would be to keep the people who were interested in the documentary updated on my progress. I have been working on it, but I’ve obviously failed on keeping people updated, but I’m here to remedy it now.

First Round of Updates

Honestly, the interviews are going well. Better than I expected. So far, I’ve talked to Ian Groshong, who represents a large chunk of my information. He has been extremely helpful with finding me resources and answers to my questions. I had met Ian during one of my first projects at OSU, which was a slideshow about ways to deal with trash other than throwing it away. We talked about Stillwater’s recycling options, which I didn’t know a ton about because I had just transferred to OSU a few months before. He was helpful then too, but one of the things that caught my attention was he said something to the affect of, ‘when I’m hired to do a job, I find out all I can to educate myself to do the job to the best of my ability.’ He admitted he didn’t know a lot about recycling or even care about it when he was promoted from a trash truck driver to Coordinator of the recycling collection center. In order to become better at his job, he knew he needed to be more educated. That passion and dedication are the things I most appreciate about Ian.

These qualities make him an excellent source for a documentary, too. One thing I am constantly shocked about, as I try to find good sources for information, is the amount of people that do a job without any care for why they are doing it. Why care? And a lot of people don’t have an answer, which can be incredibly frustrating when you’re trying to find a way to convince others to care. Luckily, Ian has no such problem.

I’ve also interviewed a guy named Henry Wells, who is contracted with the city to buy their recyclables and sell them. Before Henry got into the recycling business, he owned a landfill. Then to make a little extra cash, he would divert trash from the landfill and sell to sell in his recycling business.

I will admit I’ve hit a bit of snag with my interviews thanks to the company that runs the landfill. I wanted to talk about the operations of the landfills, how it was structured and all that. I’ve heard the company that operates the landfill, also picks up recycling, too, so I wanted to talk with them about that. One thing I did learn from Henry was he used to own the landfill before he sold it to this company, who rejected my interview. It’s always interesting when we realize just how small the world is.

Anyways, these are my updates. I’m moving along, slowly but surely. I’m hoping to start laying out the script and start planning how exactly I’m going to organize it. It’s a little overwhelming, so wish me luck!

Have a great weekend and I look forward to more updates soon!

About Kayla Kamp

Hello, my name is Kayla and I’m a multimedia journalism graduate working on first documentary about recycling in Stillwater, OK. I would like to show others how a little more compassion for people, the environment and animals would go a long way in the world. I am striving to shed light on this.
This entry was posted in Documentary and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

